Law Office of Rob McKinney
615-686-2115
866-603-2842
View Our Practice Areas

Tennessee man charged with second offense DUI

A single drunk driving conviction can have a major negative impact on a person's life. In addition to fines and jail time, some people lose their jobs and experience family troubles after being convicted of DUI. In Tennessee, the penalties only become more severe after a second or subsequent DUI conviction.

The 22-year-old son of a Tennessee state representative is facing serious DUI charges after being stopped by police. It remains to be seen whether the charges against the young man will have any effect on his father's reelection bid in Smyrna.

On the night of June 5, police received a complaint that someone was driving recklessly at a local bowling alley. Police claim that after the young man was contacted by officers, he refused a breath test. Consequently, he was charged with second offense DUI and violation of Tennessee's implied consent law.

The man was being held in a county detention center as of June 7. His bond was set at $4,500. His first court appearance was scheduled for June 11.

If you are suspected of DUI in Tennessee, then you should understand that refusing a breath test can result in an additional charge of refusing implied consent. Also, a second DUI offense can result in a jail sentence of 45 days, and authorities can take your vehicle from you. Subsequent convictions carry even harsher penalties, including a jail sentence of up to a year for a fourth offense. People convicted on repeat DUI charges may also have to pay thousands of dollars in fines.

To protect your freedom, your finances and your reputation, it is important to begin mounting a strong DUI defense now.

Source: dnj.com, "State representative's son charged with DUI," Michelle Willard, June, 7, 2014

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
brand footer image

214 2nd Avenue N.
Suite 400
Nashville, TN 37201

Toll Free: 866-603-2842
Phone: 615-686-2115
Fax: 615-242-5967
Map & Directions

NEW! Visit the iTunes App Store to
download our Tennessee DUI Law Help App

back to top