After a teenager gets a DUI, the loss of the teen's driver's license and possible criminal penalties are not the only concerns for the teen - or the teen's parents. Insurance premiums will increase significantly, whether the teen is covered on a family policy or has coverage on a separate policy. If the teen is covered on a family policy, some insurance companies will even drop coverage entirely.
Auto Insurance Center, an insurance industry-sponsored website, has published an informative article about what happens to insurance rates after a teen DUI. These are some the key takeaways from the article:
- After a teen DUI, a family policy that costs about $100 a month could rise in cost to $200 a month or more.
- A teen with a separate policy will see premiums rise to $500 - $800 a month.
- The article quotes Troy Thompson, the owner of a Minnesota insurance agency, as saying that in his experience, about half of insurance companies will cancel coverage entirely after a teen DUI.
- Families can avoid potential premium increases by not listing the teen on the policy. He or she can still drive the family car and be covered, because the teen has permission from the vehicle's owner to drive the car.
What If Your Child Has Been Arrested For DUI?
After a teen DUI arrest, what's the best way to limit the damage? The most important thing you need to know is that a DUI arrest does not always result in a DUI conviction. In Tennessee, a significant percentage of DUI charges are dismissed or reduced to nonalcohol driving violations. Just one mistake made by a police officer before a DUI stop, during the arrest process, or during the alcohol testing process could result in a good outcome for your child.
If your child has been arrested for underage DUI, talk with an experienced defense attorney as soon as possible.