Law Office of Rob McKinney
615-686-2115
866-603-2842
View Our Practice Areas

March 2017 Archives

5 digital actions that could be considered domestic violence

Domestic violence is undoubtedly a serious issue and of great concern to families all across Nashville. However, it is also a very broad area of law that encompasses just about any negative or potentially harmful physical, emotional or financial act between spouses, family members or exes. Because so many actions can be classified as domestic violence, it can be difficult for people to distinguish between ill-advised behavior and criminal behavior.

What to Do If You Are Pulled Over By the Police

Any police stop has the potential to turn violent. When an officer approaches a stopped vehicle, he or she usually does so without knowing who is in that vehicle or what the driver or passengers will do. Police officers receive training about how to conduct traffic stops and human nature tells them to be on their guard as they approach stopped vehicles. As a result, if a driver or a passenger makes a sudden move, the situation can escalate very quickly.

What Happens If I Am Charged With Possession of Methamphetamine ?

Drug charges are serious business in Tennessee. One question that was asked of me recently is what happens if I am charged with poessession of methamphetamine in Tennessee. Possession of Methamphetamine(Meth) can be a felony. Meth is a Schedule II drug. Possession of any amount of a Schedule II drug may result in a felony drug conviction. It is a Class B felony with a full range of punishment of 8 to 30 years in prison depending on your criminal record.

Public Intoxication Charges In Nashville,TN.

Nashville has become a popular destination for weekend parties. Take a walk in Nashville,TN. on a Friday night and one can see the bachelor and bachelorette parties in full force.Throw in all the honky tonks on lower broad and it may lead to a little bit of drinking. Sometimes it leads to a public intoxication charge.

Does a DUI Conviction Stay On My Criminal Record in Tennessee ?

A conviction for a DUI charge stays on your criminal record forever in Tennessee. Unlike other states, Tennessee has no diversion type of probation that allows you expunge the DUI conviction off your criminal record. Tennessee DUI charges that were dismissed, retired, or a not guilty verdict was reurned are eligible to be expuinged from your record.

In Tennessee, Guns and Alcohol Don't Mix

It's Sunday afternoon and you feel like doing some target shooting. Grabbing a six-pack and your pistol, you head out to the Back 40, drink the beer, set up the empty cans, and start shooting. You've just broken Tennessee Code 39-17-1321, which makes it illegal to possess a handgun while under the influence of alcohol or another controlled substance. It's a Class A misdemeanor that carries a potential sentence of up to 11 months and 29 days in jail.

How The Police Generate False Confessions

Why do people confess to crimes they haven't committed? Let's set aside those who confess because they are intoxicated, have mental health issues, or just want attention. A significant number of wrongful convictions happen because police manipulate people into confessing, even when the evidence is inconclusive or just isn't there.

Discovery Changes In Sexual Exploitation of a Minor Charges?

Sex crimes is a broad description of different types sex crimes. One of those crimes is sexual exploitation of a minor. It is basically possessing child pornography. The Tennessee State Legislature is working on a law that could restrict tor limit a criminal defense attorneys access to the evidence.A copy of the bill can be found here.

New Gun Laws Under Consideration By The Tennessee Legislature

In the first two months of 2017, state lawmakers in Tennessee have already proposed several new laws concerning gun ownership and use. These include both "pro-gun" and "anti-gun" bills. Though it's too early to predict with certainty, some of these will probably be enacted into law while others may languish or be defeated.

brand footer image

214 2nd Avenue N.
Suite 400
Nashville, TN 37201

Toll Free: 866-603-2842
Phone: 615-686-2115
Fax: 615-242-5967
Map & Directions

NEW! Visit the iTunes App Store to
download our Tennessee DUI Law Help App

back to top