Law Office of Rob McKinney
615-686-2115
866-603-2842
View Our Practice Areas

What is Sexual Battery?

Sexual battery is the touching of someone without their permission on a body part. It also could be elevated to aggravated sexual battery if you touch a private part of a child under 13. So there's a difference in punishment based upon the age of the person that's complaining.

Aggravated sexual battery is a class B felony in the state of Tennessee, which carries a range of punishment from eight to 30 years and that is a mandatory jail time. In order to prove a sexual battery or aggravated sexual battery case they need a witness. That evidence is sufficient solely on the testimony of the complaining witness. They don't need any collaborating evidence such as DNA or forensics or confessions.

Statutory rape is solely based upon the age of the person who was assaulted. If you have sexual relations whether consent or not with someone under 18-years old then you can be charged for statutory rape.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
brand footer image

214 2nd Avenue N.
Suite 400
Nashville, TN 37201

Toll Free: 866-603-2842
Phone: 615-686-2115
Fax: 615-242-5967
Map & Directions

NEW! Visit the iTunes App Store to
download our Tennessee DUI Law Help App

back to top