Law Office of Rob McKinney
615-686-2115
866-603-2842
View Our Practice Areas

Tennessee’s new anti-crime legislation

As new bills are submitted and updates are made to existing laws, the consequences and penalties for various offenses are constantly evolving and changing. As of January 1, 2017, the state of Tennessee enacted several new laws that can have a major impact on your sentence if you are convicted of a serious violent crime. We at the Law Office of Rob McKinney have prepared this guide to detail the changes that have been made.

 

According to The Chattanoogan, the new laws were created in an effort to reduce crime and keep citizens safer by inflicting harsher punishments for the most serious offenses. Under the new laws, you may be sent to prison for 90 days and issued a Class E felony if you are convicted of a third or subsequent charge for domestic violence. The law previously allowed only allow a misdemeanor charge in addition to jail time.

 

Charges for aggravated burglary have also increased. You can now receive a minimum period of incarceration at 85 percent if you are convicted of the crime for a third or subsequent time. Lawmakers feel that longer prison terms will keep repeat offenders from breaking and entering homes as frequently and provide more protection to homeowners.

 

Drug traffickers have also been given increased sentences. If you are convicted of distributing, manufacturing or selling controlled substances, you can be given a Class A, B or C felony. To learn more about the consequences and penalties that may be given if you are convicted of a serious crime in Tennessee, please visit our web page.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
brand footer image

214 2nd Avenue N.
Suite 400
Nashville, TN 37201

Toll Free: 866-603-2842
Phone: 615-686-2115
Fax: 615-242-5967
Map & Directions

NEW! Visit the iTunes App Store to
download our Tennessee DUI Law Help App

back to top