A conviction for a DUI charge stays on your criminal record forever in Tennessee. Unlike other states, Tennessee has no diversion type of probation that allows you expunge the DUI conviction off your criminal record. Tennessee DUI charges that were dismissed, retired, or a not guilty verdict was reurned are eligible to be expuinged from your record.
What is the Difference Between DUI and DWI? | Nashville DUI Lawyer
What Happens if you Get a DUI? | McKinney Law Firm
What is a DUI? | Nashville DUI Lawyer
A DUI under Tennessee law can be accomplished in one of two ways. Either if your blood alcohol level is .08 or higher at the time of driving, or if your ability to operate a motor vehicle was impaired by alcohol and you lacked clearness of mind. It is very simple. You can be convicted under two theories of DUI - blood alcohol, or how your driving was impaired, affecting whether or not you were able to operate the vehicle safely. In Tennessee, a DUI can only be a felony if it is your 4th offense. Normally what the government does is look back through your record and see if you have any prior DUI arrests. The more you get, the worse it gets. For a 2nd DUI offense is a greater punishment, a 3rd is more punishment and a 4th is a felony. A felony DUI carries 1-6 years in prison, and carries a minimum of 150 days in jail. It gets progressively worse with the more you get, but for most folks a DUI is not a felony.
You've been stopped by the police and taken to the station because they think you are over the limit. They want you to take a breath test, but taking the test could get you arrested for DUI. If you refuse to submit to testing, your driver's license will be suspended. What should you do?
After a teenager gets a DUI, the loss of the teen's driver's license and possible criminal penalties are not the only concerns for the teen - or the teen's parents. Insurance premiums will increase significantly, whether the teen is covered on a family policy or has coverage on a separate policy. If the teen is covered on a family policy, some insurance companies will even drop coverage entirely.
After being charged with a DUI it is only normal to wonder what your options are moving forward. Depending on the circumstances, you may be facing no charges or may be facing jail time. Because the range of outcomes is so vast, it is important to know some basic facts about what the possible outcomes are after being charged with a DUI in Tennessee.
A Tennessee woman was driving along Kingsport Highway shortly before 11:10 a.m. on a recent Tuesday. Around that time, she was involved in a single vehicle accident. By the next morning, officials announced that the woman would be facing DUI charges, and other accusations, in connection with the crash.
Here in the United States, you are guaranteed the presumption of innocence with regard to any accusation of criminal conduct until and unless it is proved beyond a reasonable doubt in a court of law. In addition, you are entitled to review the evidence and confront any witnesses against you that Tennessee prosecutors intend to present in court. Understanding these basic rights, there are important facts you should know about DUI charges.