Law Office of Rob McKinney
615-686-2115
866-603-2842
View Our Practice Areas

Vehicular Assault or Homicide Archives

Can A Vehicular Homicide Charge Turn Into A Murder Charge ?

Vehicular homicide charges are usually brought when a death occurs in a motor vehicle accident involving alcohol or reckless conduct in Tennessee. Crime reporter Jamie Satterfield reported on the efforts of two Knox County prosecutors to pursue a second degree murder charge instead of a vehicular homicide charge. One reason for the push is that a second degree murder charge carries a stiffer punishment.

Pedestrian Deaths in Nashville

Nashville ranks as the 37th most dangeroues city for pedestrian deaths in the country. Sometimes pedestrian deaths lead to vehicular homicide charges.According to a report by the Tennessean, 209 pedestrians were struck and killed in Nashville in a ten year period ending in 2014. I thought the number was much higher. My office is downtown near the A.A.Birch Building. I drive downtown every work day. I constantly see pedestrians fail to use the cross walk, wearing earbuds, darting across the roads in traffic. There are near misses everyday.

Driver suspected in hit-and-run faces vehicular assault charges

When it comes to locating vehicles and drivers allegedly involved in hit-and-run accidents, police here in Nashville and elsewhere often rely on witness statements regarding the type of vehicle and/or a description of the driver. Officers canvass the area and might find a vehicle that appears to match the one witnesses described, but that does not mean they have actually found the culprit. Drivers are taken into custody and face charges that could include vehicular assault (if the victim lives) or vehicular homicide (if the victim dies), along with other charges such as DUI, if it appears to be appropriate.

Vehicular homicide or assault charges can be frightening

After being involved in an accident and being arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence, you might think things could not get any worse. However, if someone else involved in the crash was seriously injured or died, you could end up facing charges for vehicular homicide or vehicular assault. Tennessee law allows these charges to be filed even if you had no intention to kill or seriously injure anyone when you got into your vehicle.

Trucker charged with 6 counts of vehicular homicide in 2015 crash

In June 2015, at least one tractor-trailer was involved in an eight-vehicle crash in a construction zone on a Tennessee highway. Six people lost their lives and 18 others suffered a variety of injuries. The driver of the tractor-trailer was taken into custody on charges that include six counts of vehicular homicide.

Tennessee woman sentenced on 2 counts of vehicular homicide

On May 22, 2015, an SUV was headed eastbound on the East Lamar Alexander Parkway. It then crossed over into the westbound lanes and struck four motorcycles. Two people died and four others suffered a variety of injuries. The Tennessee woman driving the SUV on that day was recently sentenced to a total of 17 years in prison on two counts of vehicular homicide and other charges that were part of a plea agreement reached through negotiations between her criminal defense counsel and prosecutors.

78-year-old man accused of vehicular homicide and 3rd DUI offense

If a driver is suspected of driving under the influence in the aftermath of an accident believed to be caused by him or her, additional charges could be filed in conjunction with a DUI. For example, if someone dies in the crash, the allegedly intoxicated driver could be charged with vehicular homicide as well. This appears to be the case in an accident involving a 78-year-old Tennessee man suspected of being impaired at the time of a fatal accident.

Driver sentenced for vehicular homicide in fatal 2014 crash

Reports indicate that on July 26, 2014 a 44-year-old Tennessee woman was impaired as she drove at a high rate of speed. At some point, there was a crash, and her 40-year-old passenger died of injuries he suffered in the crash. Now, two years later, the woman has been sentenced for vehicular homicide.

A day at the golf course ends with a vehicular assault charge

Golfing enthusiasts in Tennessee and elsewhere often enjoy a day riding in a golf cart, having a few drinks and conquering the golf course. However, what many people might not realize is that driving around the course while drinking comes with the same penalties as driving on any roadway. If an accident occurs and someone is injured, the driver could face vehicular assault and other charges.

Woman's DUI history could be used in vehicular homicide case

Even though convictions for driving under the influence remain on a person's record, any of them over 10 years old are not allowed to be used in court in Tennessee. This means that an individual who is arrested for DUI now could be treated as a first time offender if it has been at least 10 years since his or her last conviction. It provides people with a second chance of sorts -- that is, unless current charges include vehicular homicide.

brand footer image

214 2nd Avenue N.
Suite 400
Nashville, TN 37201

Toll Free: 866-603-2842
Phone: 615-686-2115
Fax: 615-242-5967
Map & Directions

NEW! Visit the iTunes App Store to
download our Tennessee DUI Law Help App

back to top