Law Office of Rob McKinney
615-686-2115
866-603-2842
View Our Practice Areas

What are the conditions for receiving a restricted license?

While convictions resulting from a Tennessee DUI may result in a suspension of a driver’s license or overall loss of driving privileges, there are options for individuals to recover limited driving privileges immediately following a conviction. Tennessee law allows a court to grant a restricted license, provided certain conditions are met.

According to the Tennessee Department of Security and Homeland Safety, one condition for receiving a restricted license is that a motorist must not have been involved in a vehicular homicide or an act of vehicular assault resulting from being intoxicated. Additionally, a person cannot have been part of an accident that resulted in death of another person or inflicted a serious injury due to a DUI transgression. Also, if a motorist is ordered to have an ignition interlock device installed on a personal vehicle, the device must be put on the automobile before the motorist applies for the license, and installation papers are to be delivered to the Driver Service Center.

Other conditions for receiving a restricted license may include:

  • Receiving a certified order from the court that convicted the motorist
  • Alternatively, receiving an order from the county of residence
  • Obtaining a SR-22 from the current liability insurance company
  • Issuing a payment of $65 for license fee
  • Issuing a payment of $2 for the application fee

Finally, a motorist should take the original order certified by the court and a copy of it to a Driver Services Center within a time period of ten days of the order being issued. Other documentation may be needed to go along with it.

This article is intended to inform readers about the requirements for receiving a restricted license in Tennessee and should not be interpreted as legal advice.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
brand footer image

214 2nd Avenue N.
Suite 400
Nashville, TN 37201

Toll Free: 866-603-2842
Phone: 615-686-2115
Fax: 615-242-5967
Map & Directions

NEW! Visit the iTunes App Store to
download our Tennessee DUI Law Help App

back to top