The first time you receive a conviction for driving under the influence in Tennessee, you can anticipate harsh penalties, but, as you might expect, the penalties you potentially face increase in severity with any subsequent DUI arrest. Therefore, if you have had the unfortunate experience of having authorities place you under arrest for drinking and driving and you received a similar conviction in the past, it is important that you recognize the magnitude of what you now face.
According to the Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security, you face numerous penalties if convicted of a second Tennessee DUI, many of which can potentially impact your ability to, among other things, earn a living. For example, in addition to spending between 45 days and almost a year in jail, you will have to pay a mandatory fine ranging between $600 and $5,000 and turn over your license for two years, which can substantially hinder your employment prospects. You will also face other repercussions related to a second Tennessee DUI conviction, including mandatory use of an ignition interlock device for a period and mandatory substance abuse treatment requirements.
As a third-time DUI offender in Tennessee, you can anticipate losing your license for somewhere between 120 days and just under a year, and your fines will increase to somewhere between $1,100 and $10,000. You will also have to surrender your driver’s license for six years in addition to attending substance abuse treatment and installing an ignition interlock device on your vehicle once you can drive again, which you must also finance.
Any additional convictions will make you a Class E felony offender, which can bring with it a new batch of collateral consequences, in addition to criminal ones. This information about Tennessee’s repeat DUI offender penalties is educational in nature and does not constitute legal advice.