Domestic violence can come in a variety of ways and be manifest in a variety of relationships. For example, a husband abusing his wife, a father abusing his son or even a girlfriend abusing her boyfriend. In each of these situations, the victim may be able to secure a protective order against the perpetrator of the abuse in Tennessee if they are prompt and thorough in seeking help.
Will you go to jail on a first offense domestic violence charge in Tennessee? In most cases, there is no jail time imposed on a first offense domestic violence charge, but it may depend on the county where the charges are filed. Every jurisdiction handles domestic violence cases slightly differently.
Domestic violence cases in Sumner County TN. are being handled a little differently in 2019. Once one is arrested for any type of domestic violence charge the cases are being set as soon as possible.Here is one example. A case that happened last week is being set on this week. The Tennessee Rules of Criminal Procedure provides that cases shall be set within 10 days if a person cannot make a bail bond or within 30 days if a person makes bond.
There is no arguing that domestic violence is a problem in Tennessee, as well as the rest of the country. Adults and children are harmed every day by abusive partners. However, not everyone who is accused of being a batterer is one. Many innocent people are accused of domestic violence, despite never laying a hand on their spouse or children.
Domestic violence situations are some of the most sensitive situations handled under the law. If you have been a victim of domestic violence, you know how tough it is to get completely away from your abuser. One way many abusive partners maintain control over their victims is through their cell phones. You probably have a cell phone under a plan. If your plan is in the name of your abuser, it allows him or her to maintain contact with you and even find out where you are at any given time. According to the Tennessee State Courts, lawmakers recently passed a law that makes it easier for victims to seek their independence through their cell phones.
Court dates, attorneys’ fees and restraining orders often accompany domestic violence allegations in Tennessee. If you are falsely accused, the road to getting the charges dropped can be long and frustrating. At the Law Office of Rob McKinney, we have experience representing clients who need assistance getting the charges dismissed.
Like almost everyone else, you have heard about stalking and may have a basic understanding of this behavior, but you might not realize all that it entails, especially the laws pertaining to stalking in Tennessee. At the Law Office of Rob McKinney, we are ready to answer the questions of those who may be facing stalking charges and unsure what to do next.
At first, your spouse just got really mad at you sometimes. Maybe he yelled, slammed doors or punched walls. The first time he touched you in a violent way, he grabbed your arm so hard the bruise lasted for two weeks. After that, it seemed easier for him to go off on you, slapping you and then punching you in the face. Whether you live in a ranch-style home in a classy Tennessee suburb or in a bungalow in the Smoky Mountains, if this describes you, read on.
Domestic violence statistics are alarming. The National Coalition Against Domestic Violence reports that 40 percent of women in Tennessee and 32.5 percent of men "experience intimate partner physical violence, intimate partner rape and/or intimate partner stalking in their lifetimes."
Since I have been practicing criminal defense law, radical changes have happened in the area of domestic violence law. Increased awareness to the problem is one of the best things that has happened. In the past , domestic violence issues were minimalized and it was a family issue. The problem has been revealed to be more complex and destructive to the family including the children. Has the pendulum swung too far ?