Whenever someone’s actions result in the death of another, you can almost be assured there will be criminal charges, if authorities determine the fatality resulted from negligence or ill intent. This may be true even if there was no intent for anyone to be harmed, but the activities involved recklessness or a lack of common sense that could have been avoided. The charges become even more serious if intentional violence was involved. You and other Tennessee residents who are facing manslaughter charges need to understand what this kind of charge entails.
While possibly every Tennessee driver has given in to aggressive behavior such as speeding or ignoring a traffic signal at least once, road rage is not quite so widespread. However, more and more motorists are finding that they are losing their tempers to a degree that they may not experience when not behind the wheel. According to WebMD, this is not simply a perceived phenomenon; road rage has deep psychological roots.
If you are like many Tennessee citizens, you either have a gun in your home or know someone who does. Most people believe that they have the right to protect themselves, their family and their property from intruders. At the Law Office of Rob McKinney, we often represent clients who must defend themselves from being sued by acting in self-defense.
Tennessee has the dubious distinction of ranking among the top states in the nation when it comes to the number of gun crimes committed. As reported by the Nashville Patch, Tennessee ranks 14th in the number of gun deaths, with 17.1 deaths occurring per every 100,000 residents according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
With traffic seeming to get more congested every day, it can be easy to lose your temper while driving. At the Law Office of Rob McKinney, we understand your frustration, especially if another driver cuts you off or almost causes an accident due to texting while driving or another form of negligence. However, you and other Tennessee residents may not realize that you could face criminal charges for losing your cool to the point that you target another driver.
If you face aggravated assault charges in Tennessee, your freedom is at stake. As FindLaw explains, Tennessee has several classifications of aggravated assault, conviction of which is a Class C or Class D felony depending on the circumstances. Class D felonies carry a prison term of from two to 12 years and a fine of up to $5,000. Class C felonies carry a prison term of from three to 15 years and a fine of up to $10,000.
By definition, homicide is the killing of another human being, whether in Tennessee or elsewhere. However, not all homicides are crimes. In addition, there are several categories of homicide crimes, the conviction of which carry greater or lesser penalties.
That the burden of proving criminal action rests largely on the prosecution in Tennessee criminal cases does not mean that convictions are uncommon. In fact, from misdemeanor domestic assault to felony battery charges, there is a chance that long-term consequences for the defendant might be exacerbated by a criminal trial. In situations where a trial on the original charges is likely to lead to an undesireable outcome, many defendants choose to enter into a plea negotiation phase prior to setting a court date.
If you are a Tennessee resident charged with first degree murder, no one need tell you that you are in very serious trouble. As FindLaw explains, under Section 39-13-202 of the Tennessee Code, there are three kinds of deaths that are considered to be first degree murder.