Jump to Navigation

Consequences of a Tennessee Domestic Violence Conviction

If you are convicted of a domestic violence charge, either by trial or by pleading guilty, there are serious consequences that go with the conviction. Domestic assault is a Class A Misdemeanor, meaning it carries a maximum jail sentence is 11 months 29 days in jail and a maximum fine of $200. A Class A Misdemeanor is the most serious misdemeanor, but it is not a felony. The conviction stays on your record forever.

A conviction for a domestic assault in Tennessee can carry jail time. The amount of jail time will depend on the circumstances of the assault and on your past criminal history. Typically, a first time offender will not get a long jail sentence.

Along with jail time, a conviction will also carry supervised probation. The probation will last for 11 months 29 days, although shorter probation periods are up to the discretion of the judge or prosecutor. As part of the conditions of probation, the defendant will be subject to regular and random drug screens and have to pay probation fees and court costs on schedule, which can be as much as $100 per month.

As part of a conviction, the judge or prosecutor can also ask that the defendant meet other conditions such as obtaining drug and alcohol treatment, completing a batterers' intervention program, domestic violence classes, having no contact with the victim, community service, finding and maintaining employment, or making a significant monetary contribution to a women's shelter. Failure to complete these conditions can mean a probation violation with additional jail time.

With a domestic assault conviction, the defendant has a prohibition on owning or possessing any firearms, including hunting rifles. If you are employed as a police officer, security guard or other profession where you must carry a firearm, a conviction can mean a loss of employment. It may prevent you from getting a job or an apartment. Some companies are reluctant to hire those convicted.

If you have any questions about a domestic assault or domestic violence case please contact Rob McKinney at 615-686-2115, via email at rob@robmckinneylaw.com , or visit www.mckinneylawfirm.com

What Our Clients Are Saying
  • Without your help I would not know what to do or who to turn to. You are more to us than just a lawyer. Your are a friend, someone who is always there for us.
    -JB
  • Rob McKinney is a very helpful person. As an attorney he is very understanding and very helpful.
    -Brianna
  • Thank you so much! Little words can express the gratitude we have for you! From the very first day we walked into your office we had complete confidence in you and your staff.
    -Jack and Jessi
  • There are precious times in our lives when we are blessed with people in our life who make a difference.
    -Nathan
View All
Nashville Criminal Law Blog
Read The Blog
Office Location

Rob McKinney, Attorney at Law
214 2nd Ave N., Suite 103
Nashville, TN 37201
Phone: 615-686-2115
Toll Free: 866-603-2842
Fax: 615-242-5967
Map and Directions

Ashland City Office
202 N. Main St.
Ashland City, TN 37015
Map and Directions

New!

Visit the iTunes App Store to download our Tennessee DUI Law Help App

DUI