Drug charges are serious business in Tennessee. One question that was asked of me recently is what happens if I am charged with poessession of methamphetamine in Tennessee. Possession of Methamphetamine(Meth) can be a felony. Meth is a Schedule II drug. Possession of any amount of a Schedule II drug may result in a felony drug conviction. It is a Class B felony with a full range of punishment of 8 to 30 years in prison depending on your criminal record.
Nashville has become a popular destination for weekend parties. Take a walk in Nashville,TN. on a Friday night and one can see the bachelor and bachelorette parties in full force.Throw in all the honky tonks on lower broad and it may lead to a little bit of drinking. Sometimes it leads to a public intoxication charge.
Tennessee law clearly limits who can take out an order of protection in Tennessee. One critical question is who can take out an order of protection . Tennessee Code Annotated 36-3-601 (5) defines who is a domestic abuse victim.
How Long Does a DUI Stay on your Record? | Nashville DUI Lawyer
A conviction for a DUI charge stays on your criminal record forever in Tennessee. Unlike other states, Tennessee has no diversion type of probation that allows you expunge the DUI conviction off your criminal record. Tennessee DUI charges that were dismissed, retired, or a not guilty verdict was reurned are eligible to be expuinged from your record.
It's Sunday afternoon and you feel like doing some target shooting. Grabbing a six-pack and your pistol, you head out to the Back 40, drink the beer, set up the empty cans, and start shooting. You've just broken Tennessee Code 39-17-1321, which makes it illegal to possess a handgun while under the influence of alcohol or another controlled substance. It's a Class A misdemeanor that carries a potential sentence of up to 11 months and 29 days in jail.
In the example cited above, the chances of getting arrested may not be that great considering the fact that you are in an isolated rural area. But what if you are in possession of a handgun and get arrested for DUI? Or you are arrested following a domestic disturbance? Furthermore, if you are drinking alcohol in a bar or restaurant, you don't even have to be intoxicated to get charged with violating 39-17-1321. Mere possession of a handgun while drinking in such an establishment is enough.
Why do people confess to crimes they haven't committed? Let's set aside those who confess because they are intoxicated, have mental health issues, or just want attention. A significant number of wrongful convictions happen because police manipulate people into confessing, even when the evidence is inconclusive or just isn't there.
False confessions are not an insignificant problem in the U.S. The National Registry of Exonerations keeps a database that lists every known exoneration since 1989. In addition to numerous exonerations for reasons such as new DNA evidence, perjury, and official misconduct, the database shows that about 12 percent of exonerations involved false confessions.
What is the Difference Between DUI and DWI? | Nashville DUI Lawyer
Sex crimes is a broad description of different types sex crimes. One of those crimes is sexual expoitation of a minor. It is basically possessing child pornography. The Tennessee State Legislature is working on a law that could restric tor limit a criminal defense attorneys access to the evidence.A copy of the bill can be found here.