What Are The Fines If I Am Convicted Of Driving Under The Influence (DUI) In Tennessee?
All DUI convictions in Tennessee carry a fine. It is based on which offense you are being charged with. In most plea-bargain cases, the government offers you the minimum fine. If you go to trial, a jury must set any fine over fifty dollars ($50). However, you can waive this and let the judge set the fine.
Here is a list of the fines for Tennessee DUI Offenses:
1. For a first offense, the person shall be fined not less than three-hundred-fifty dollars ($350);
2. For a second offense, the person shall be fined not less than six-hundred dollars ($600);
3. For a third offense, the person shall be fined not less than one-thousand-one-hundred dollars ($1,100);
4. For a fourth or subsequent offense, the person shall be fined not less than three-thousand dollars ($3,000) nor more than fifteen-thousand dollars ($15,000);
5. For any offense while accompanied by a child under eighteen (18) years of age, the person shall be fined one-thousand dollars ($1,000) in addition to the fine for the DUI offense.
Murfreesboro Vehicular Homicide Defense Attorney
If you cause the death of another person because you were under the influence of drugs or alcohol while operating a car, boat, plane or other motor vehicle, you can be charged with vehicular homicide.
Since 1994, criminal defense lawyer Rob McKinney has defended people charged with vehicular homicide in Nashville and throughout Tennessee.
What Is Vehicular Homicide?
A Class B felony, vehicular homicide can result in significant consequences, including fines and incarceration. Those convicted will lose their licenses for between three and 10 years. There is no opportunity to obtain a restricted driver's license.
To be convicted of this crime, the prosecution must show that:
- Your behavior was reckless;
- The death occurred as a result of your reckless conduct, which created a substantial risk of death or serious injury, OR
- Your intoxication by alcohol or drugs caused the death.
We study the facts of the case to determine whether your behavior directly led to the death. It may not have. For example, if you struck a pedestrian who darted out between two parked cars while jaywalking, we would argue that the pedestrian's actions caused the accident, not your behavior.
Free Consultation With A Nashville DUI And Vehicular Homicide Attorney
Our legal team will look at the accident from all angles and develop a defense strategy designed to minimize the negative consequences to you. To put the strength of our experience on your side, please contact us online or call 615-686-2115. We offer a free initial consultation and case evaluation.
To learn more about the legal aspects of drunk driving, please visit our Drunk Driving/DUI Practice Page.