Punishment of simple possession of marijuana in Tennessee can be confusing. While the legalization of marijuana is rapidly expanding, it is illegal under Tennessee's criminal laws to possess marijuana. It is a criminal offense to possess less than one-half ounce of marijuana. It is a Class A misdemeanor. A Class A misdemeanor of simple possession of marijuana carries the following penalties:
- Jail up to 11 months and 29 days.
- A minimum fine for a first offense is $250.00.
- Probation for 11 months and 29 days.
- Drug treatment and or random drug screens.
A Conviction Can Become A Permanent Criminal Record
A conviction of simple possession of marijuana can ruin your life. Contact our office immediately to discuss your options. Plea bargain agreements, motions to suppress, trials, under advisement pleas, judicial diversion, and drug education classes are some of the options. Remember district attorney generals' offices in different judicial districts differ on how they resolve the simple possession cases. We have handled simple possession cases in the following counties: Davidson, Robertson, Wilson, Rutherford, Williamson, Cheatham, and Sumner Counties. We are just a call away.
Check back for tomorrow's post. Will an out of state prescription for marijuana keep you from being arrested?