Law Office of Rob McKinney
615-686-2115
866-603-2842
View Our Practice Areas

The severity of felony DUI charges in Tennessee

Tennessee drivers who find themselves facing felony DUI charges may not initially understand just how severe these charges are. If convicted of a felony charge, it can potentially negatively alter a person's life for an extended period of time.

The Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security states that there are many different categories of DUI that can invoke a felony charge. This includes:

  • Aggravated vehicular assault
  • Child endangerment
  • 4 or more DUI offenses
  • Vehicular homicide

Aggravated assault is automatically a Class A Felony. For child endangerment accusations, a person could face a Class B Felony if the child dies and a Class D felony if they're seriously injured. This applies to anyone under the age of 18. Vehicular homicide is also a Class B felony. Cases in which someone is being charged with their fourth or higher DUI will earn a Class E felony.

FindLaw states that felony DUIs get enhanced penalties. For example, vehicular assault can result in a person paying $5,000 in fines on top of 1 to 5 years with a license revocation, and 2 to 12 years in prison. Vehicular homicide can land someone with 8 to 30 years in jail, 3 to 10 years of license revocation, and $25,000 in fines. As for child endangerment, there's a minimum 30 day jail sentence that must be served, and a minimum fine of $1,000. Aggravated vehicular assault can lead to $50,000 in charges, as well as 15 to 60 years in prison.

It quickly becomes obvious that felony charges are much harsher than misdemeanor charges. A person who's facing felony charges could find themselves dealing with steep fees, long jail sentences, and much more if convicted, which is why understanding their severity is so vital.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
brand footer image

214 2nd Avenue N.
Suite 400
Nashville, TN 37201

Toll Free: 866-603-2842
Phone: 615-686-2115
Fax: 615-242-5967
Map & Directions

NEW! Visit the iTunes App Store to
download our Tennessee DUI Law Help App

back to top