Violation of Order of Protection Nashville, TN
Accused of Violating an Order of Protection?
If someone has an ex parte or formal order of protection against you, you must take it seriously. Law enforcement does not need a warrant to arrest you for violating an order of protection.
If you call, email, or text that person, repeatedly drive past his or her workplace, or harass him or her in any other manner, you will face 10 days of jail time and a $50 fine per incident. Plus, if you are found guilty of committing simple assault against that person, the offense will be increased to the Class C felony of aggravated assault.
At May McKinney, we defend clients accused of violating orders of protection in Nashville and throughout Franklin, Mount Juliet, Brentwood, and the surrounding areas. We know how important it is to protect your rights, your relationships, and your future against the damaging consequences of a conviction. Our mission is to fight for you and your best interests.
To discuss your order of protection violation charge with and how we can help you, call our Nashville lawyers at (615) 265-6383.
What if the Other Person Contacted You?
You should be aware that Tennessee does not assume you are innocent just because the other person is the one who initiated contact. For instance, if the person with the order of protection against you sends you an email and you respond, you may still be found guilty of violating the order. You need to be careful, and if you have any questions about what to do in the face of an order of protection, you can find experienced insight from the Nashville defense attorneys of May McKinney.
“Rob McKinney did an exceptional job! Not only did he get the best outcome possible for my case, he had skilled knowledge to answer ...”- Very Satisfied Client
“Best defense lawyer in the middle Tennessee area”- Daniel Himes
“I could not be more satisfied with the outcome McKinney Law produced.”- Jason B.